Probus Dún Laoghaire Marine
Talks's Reports
Hon Secretary's Notes (Commemorating the Decade of Centenaries)
Published on 25/02/2019

Notice: Undefined variable: PHOTOCAPTIONTEXT in /home/gi23sv02/ on line 282

Frank Sheridan (President), John Bolton, (Vice – President), Paddy MacManus (Treasurer), Myles Duffy (immediate Past President),Raymond Burke, John O’ Neill, John Ryan (Hon. Secretary).


Donal Denham

Maurice O’ Regan Reidy

Noel O’ Reilly


The President welcomed Members to the 7th meeting of Probus for 2019 and also welcomed the following guests attending –

-Dick Ryan a committee member of the Federation of Local History Societies and Treasurer of Rathmichael History Society

-Jim Lillis retired businessman who formerly served with the IDA and has a keen interest in Irish History

-Mark Leslie who devised and created a multiple award winning permanent interactive exhibition at the GPO which focuses on the rising and the century that followed

- Paraic Laffan Chairman of the Federation of Local History Societies

-Colm C.T. Wilikson star of stage screen and radio.

The President then introduced the guest speaker Maurice Manning an Irish academic and former politician. He was born in Co. Carlow and educated at De La Salle Schools in Bagnalstown following which he attended Rockwell College, University College Dublin, the University of Strathclyde he holds a B.A. M.A. and a Phd from UCD. Maurice has been a member of the N.U.I. senate for 27 years, having been elected on the graduate panel in every election since 1982.

He served on the governing authority of UCD from 1979 to 2008. He spent much of his academic career in the department of politics in UCD where he established a reputation for his teaching and his closeness to students.

He has written widely and is the adjunct professor in the school of politics and international relations at UCD. He is also currently chair of the publishing committee of the Institute of Public Administration.

Maurice has served in both the Dail and the Seanad and was a member of the New Ireland Forum and a member of the British Irish parliamentary body. He has served as both leader of Seanad Eireann and leader of the opposition of Seanad Eireann.

He has also been President of the Irish Human Rights Commission and was chair of the European group of National Human Rights Institutions.

In 2009 Maurice was elected the fifth Chancellor of the National University of Ireland in succession to William Walsh, Eamonn De Valera, Ken Whittaker and Garret Fitzgerald.

He has published widely and his books include a biography of the former Fine Gael leader James Dillon as well as two novels and a history of the Blue Shirt movement.

In 2011 the Government appointed Maurice Manning as the head of an advisory body to help guide it through the many sensitivities associated with the decade of centenaries that include, the Rebellion of 1916, the last island wide General Election of 1918, the first Dail of 1919, the War of Independence, Partition, the Treaty of 1921, the Treaty split, the setting up of the free State provisional government and the transfer of power from the Colonial government and the Civil War.

Other members of the body are Dr. Martin Manseragh, Professor Mary Daly, Francis Devine, Dr. Diarmuid Ferriter, LeeAnn Lane, Sinead McCool, Professor Eunan O’ Halpin, Eamonn Phoenix, Gabriel O’ Doherty and Dr. Mary Harris.

The remit of the body is to advise the government on historical matters relating to the decade of centenaries and consult widely with academic, community, voluntary groups and members of the public to ensure that events in the period are commemorated accurately proportionately and appropriately in tone. The group is not partisan and it’s members are independent and from around the country.

The talk from Maurice today will be about the work of that body, the complexity of commemorating events which were then and perhaps even now controversial with many holding different versions of the sam